Wasn't Clay sent down when Lowrie was activated?This smells fishy. Sounds a bit too perfect... I like it.
He was, but because of replacing a person on the DL, the 10-day rule gets waived. Judging from comments at the Globe and SoSH, you are far from alone in thinking this works out quite well for everyone, thank you very much: Wake gets a bit o' rest (his back has been problematic, as we know, so perhaps he *is* hurt) and the Sox get HH into the rotation (for showcasing or simply pitching).
Wake gets a bit o' rest (his back has been problematic, as we know, so perhaps he *is* hurt) and the Sox get HH into the rotation (for showcasing or simply pitching).Or to try and figure out if he's reliable enough to trade Penny, maybe? Without looking into specific dates, I'm that they've retroactively DL'ed him since before the break (can they do that even though he was on the AS roster? Hmmm...) so he can either come back and replace Penny after a theoretical deadline deal, or only miss one start, that one being given to Masterbator or Bowden. It could happen...
"I'm that" should be "I'm guessing that"
It's being reported that it is retro to 7/18, the Saturday of the side session. He went to the ASG and was apparently prepared to pitch, so I don't think the Sox could get away with retro-ing it to his last start.
Though Wakefield last pitched for the Red Sox on July 8, procedure dictated that his DL stint had to be made retroactive to July 18, the day after Buchholz last pitched for Boston.The earliest Wakefield can be activated is Aug. 2, when the Red Sox complete a three-game series in Baltimore.Wake: "Oh, I'm very confident, and I think the training staff and everybody will do a great job getting me back on the field. I'll be 100 percent by then."
How long are the Red Sox going to listen to Smoltz tell every one how close he is?This Wakefield thing is bogus...
Smoltz is all talk. The wake thing is awesome. Just because they are playing right up to the rules doesn't make it wrong. Wake really does have some soreness, what pitcher doesn't?
Post a Comment